Books

Let Me Be Like Water

224 Pages

Published August 2018

Let Me Be Like Water
Ebooks Sale Off
×

About the Book

'Intimate, ruthless, tender: this book is like medicine for the soul.' —Nina George, author of The Little Paris Bookshop

A beautifully poignant and poetic debut about love, loss, friendship, and ultimately, starting over.


Twenty-something Holly has moved to Brighton to escape her grief. But now that she's here, sitting on a bench, listening to the rolling waves, how is she supposed to fill the void her boyfriend left when he died?

She had thought she wanted to be on her own. But after a chance encounter with retired, part-time baker and book-club host, Frank, she is soon adopted by a new circle of friends, and the tides begin to shift. Beautifully written, Let Me Be Like Water is a moving and powerful debut about loneliness, friendship, the extraordinariness hiding in everyday life.

Praises

“A wonderful debut novel about how we find our feet again after a bereavement. It’s one of the best evocations of the grieving process I’ve read and is written in a fluid engaging style that draws you in to the protagonist Holly’s world.” THE GUARDIAN

Let Me Be Like Water is a truly cathartic, ‘chicken soup for the soul’ read.” —REFINERY29

“Perry’s prose is exquisite.”SIGNATURE

“Oh, what a beautiful book… Perry’s debut novel goes fast, so try to savor the story for as long as possible.” HELLO GIGGLES

“For fans of Mitch Albom, Anne Tyler, and Rachel Khong… read it for a sense of comfort, and for a reading experience as soothing and cathartic as ocean waves lapping at your toes.” BOOKPAGE

“Beautifully portrays the experience of living with grief… Perry’s novel is emotionally honest and heartfelt, a tender and refreshing take on loss, love, friendship, and moving on.” —BOOKLIST

“[A] moving debut… by the book’s satisfying conclusion, readers will feel they have grown alongside loving and resilient Holly.” —PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“A beautiful and gut-wrenching exploration of a woman defining herself after a monumental loss.” —KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Raw, visceral and confident… this is an affecting debut.” —THE DAILY MAIL (UK)

“Perry’s sure-handed debut is an extraordinary atlas of heartbreak, hopelessness, and the herculean strength required to power through despair to survival into recovery. Hard to put down; impossible to forget.” —*starred* LIBRARY JOURNAL

“A beautiful and heartbreaking story of young love and young loss… Let Me Be Like Water is distinctive in its poetic and vivid language…Perry is a voice to be watched.” —*starred* SHELF AWARENESS

“The writing is artful, witty and poetic… only a cynical heart would fail to be moved by this tight as a bow detailing of that old lesson: when it is time to let go, let go.” —THE IRISH TIMES
“A wonderful debut novel about how we find our feet again after a bereavement. It’s one of the best evocations of the grieving process I’ve read and is written in a fluid engaging style that draws you in to the protagonist Holly’s world.” THE GUARDIAN

Let Me Be Like Water is a truly cathartic, ‘chicken soup for the soul’ read.” —REFINERY29

“Perry’s prose is exquisite.”SIGNATURE

“Oh, what a beautiful book… Perry’s debut novel goes fast, so try to savor the story for as long as possible.” HELLO GIGGLES

“For fans of Mitch Albom, Anne Tyler, and Rachel Khong… read it for a sense of comfort, and for a reading experience as soothing and cathartic as ocean waves lapping at your toes.” BOOKPAGE

“Beautifully portrays the experience of living with grief… Perry’s novel is emotionally honest and heartfelt, a tender and refreshing take on loss, love, friendship, and moving on.” —BOOKLIST

“[A] moving debut… by the book’s satisfying conclusion, readers will feel they have grown alongside loving and resilient Holly.” —PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

“A beautiful and gut-wrenching exploration of a woman defining herself after a monumental loss.” —KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Raw, visceral and confident… this is an affecting debut.” —THE DAILY MAIL (UK)

“Perry’s sure-handed debut is an extraordinary atlas of heartbreak, hopelessness, and the herculean strength required to power through despair to survival into recovery. Hard to put down; impossible to forget.” —*starred* LIBRARY JOURNAL

“A beautiful and heartbreaking story of young love and young loss… Let Me Be Like Water is distinctive in its poetic and vivid language…Perry is a voice to be watched.” —*starred* SHELF AWARENESS

“The writing is artful, witty and poetic… only a cynical heart would fail to be moved by this tight as a bow detailing of that old lesson: when it is time to let go, let go.” —THE IRISH TIMES

Share this book

Requests

Booksellers

Request an ARC info@mhpbooks.com

Reviewers

Request a Press Kit publicity@mhpbooks.com

Related Books

From our blog

Sign up for our newsletters for updates and exclusive offers.